When the Wolf is the winner – Grandma might be dead!

Illustration: Wolf from Little Red Riding-Hood in Mother Fairy-Tales.

“The Wolf is the Winner of the Game.”

“And,” said the Wolf, “where does your good Grannie live, little lady?”

“Through the copse, and down the hollow, and over the bridge, and three meadows after the mill.”

“Does she, indeed?” cried he. “Why, then, I do believe she is a very dear old friend of mine, whom I have not seen for years and years. Now, I’ll tell you what we’ll do, you and I: I will go by this way, and you shall take that, and whoever gets there first shall be the winner of the game.”

So the Wolf trotted off one way and Red Riding-Hood went the other; and I am sorry to say that she lingered and loitered more than she ought to have done on the road.

MOTHER FAIRY-TALES

Little Red Riding-Hood.

Henry Altemus Company: Philadelphia. 1908.

8 thoughts on “When the Wolf is the winner – Grandma might be dead!

    1. Dear Laura,

      It is a good version of Little Red Riding-Hood – hard to decide whether the images or the text are more frightening! Either way kids had to be pretty tough in 1908 to sleep after this fairy tale.

      Elephant

    1. Wolves are often winners aren’t they! A pearl of wisdom! The wolf does “get it” in the end, but then we all do. I’m going to be mindful to I always bet on the wolf!

      Thanks for your kind comment,
      Elephant

  1. Man what great images, love them, love your site! But really glad I didn’t see this one as a kid. I just might have wet myself.

    1. Dear Troy,

      Nothing is more perfect than a person who understands that these children’s books are toxic – you are so very very sane! Thank you for expressing your emotion(s) I wish everyone saw this all so clearly when they look at my posts – with these as the model for childhood then, we have to fast forward through the generations . . . and there you are in a realistic way going to wet yourself! Perfectly clear!
      Elephant

  2. I first visited your site because I wanted to thank you for liking my post “dooryard jam”. I was so pleasantly surprised by the illustrations found here, the number of them, and focus of your aesthetic, that I forgot. So, I thank you now. I appreciate your interest very much, especially in light of the quality illustrations of you present.

    But also I confess I am a bit confused by your words. You say these children’s books are toxic, yet (having read your responses to the award questionare) it seems you have learned valuable lessons from them. I find this dichotomy interesting. Will you please elaborate?

    1. Thank you for your kind words and for visiting.

      We can learn from toxic stories! You have asked a big question – the answer explains part of what motivates me to do this. You deserve a better answer than I can present here. I will try to answer you soon – but I find it difficult to reduce the answer to a concise statement – it just tends to get away from me and sends me off on a rant.

      Thanks for asking,
      Elephant

Leave a Reply

