Confusing Enchantment!

Illustration:  The Singing, Soaring Lark.  Grimm’s Fairy Tales.  Translated from the German By Margaret Hunt.  Illustrated By John B. Gruelle.  Cupples and Leon Company: New York. Ca 1914.

THE SINGING, SOARING LARK.

“I have seen the white dove, it has flown to the Red Sea, there it has become a lion again, for the seven years are over, and the lion is there fighting with a dragon; the dragon, however, is an enchanted princess.”

Grimm’s Fairy Tales.

Translated from the German By Margaret Hunt.

Illustrated By John B. Gruelle.

Cupples and Leon Company: New York. Ca 1914.

20 thoughts on “Confusing Enchantment!

    1. Thank you for the nomination. I do appreciate you including me among your nominees (I have looked at all their blogs now – much to see and read and enjoy). It is a pleasure to be given a nice acknowledgement.
      Thank you very much,
      Elephant

    1. You are in the direct line of these wonderful illustrators! I should know since I live 100+ years ago! Love your blog and appreciate your input!
      Thanks,
      Elephant

  1. Hi Elephant , I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! It’s one of thoseawards that’s been going around in the blogosphere
    awarded to bloggers who “light up the dark corners of our minds” and “positively and creatively inspire others in the blogoshphere”
    You can follow through at this linkhttp://mcsirishart.wordpress.com/2013/08/19/sunshine-awards/

    1. I can follow along! Thank you so much for thinking of me and for nominating me. It is very kind of you and I appreciate your kind thoughts. I know you are a great follower of my blog – thank you very much for this kindness and interest!
      Thanks again,
      Elephant

    2. Again – it is nice to think I light up a dark corner. My blog is so simple it is hard to imagine I illuminate much, but it is very kind of you to say so.
      Thank you,
      Elephant

Leave a Reply

