“I Like You Better Than Soup.”

Illustration:  Red Riding Hood Arrives At The Cottage.  Dot’s Picture Book.  Illustrations by: F. M. Barton, E. Heatly, N. Westrup & S. Carter.  Dean & Son, Ltd.: London. Ca 1908.

RED RIDING HOOD ARRIVES AT THE COTTAGE.

“Poor Grannie,” said Red Riding Hood, “I have brought you some soup to make you better.” “Thank you, my dear,” said the Wolf in a weak voice, “I like you better than soup.” “But what large eyes you have Grannie!” said the child. “The better to see you with my dear, said the Wolf with a grin.

 

Dot’s Picture Book.

Illustrations by: F. M. Barton, E. Heatly, N. Westrup & S. Carter.

Dean & Son, Ltd.: London. Ca 1908.

 

 

13 thoughts on ““I Like You Better Than Soup.”

  1. I have always loved this story. Although you do wonder about RRH’s eyesight at times. This illustration gives the impression that she is a naive girl and that is just right for the story. And once again, what beautiful colors.

    1. She sees the wolf at the start of the story, she races with him to Grandma’s house, and yet she does not make the connection. She must know what her grandmother looks like, and presumably she does not look like a hairy long-toothed wolf. I have always been bothered by this aspect of the story – as a child I was kind of dismissive about the entire story because it is so absurd. But the illustrations are hard to resist.
      Elephant

    1. I like soup a great deal. So for me to say it to someone would be very serious. I like lots of people as much as soup (or at least I might tell them that), but more than soup?
      Elephant

  2. I like the shamrocks in the green bed. Was granny Irish? Poor Red doesn’t look like the sharpest knife in the drawer. Still, we often think we see what we expect to see. That’s why editing our own words is so difficult. 🙂

        1. True, but it is hard to believe she was so inattentive that she didn’t see the difference between her grandmother and a wolf! Could you have made this mistake? Anything close to it?
          Elephant

          1. No, but I really look at people. Not everyone does. That’s the moral of this story for Red, isn’t it? You should really look at the people in your life, they need your attention, all of it.

            1. Not sure? I think you have to be very agreeable to go along with LRRH – it makes no sense at all – but it does speak to people’s desire to believe that what they want to see is what they do see. I don’t think anyone in my life needs my attention enough to need me to go along with this much self-delusion – they do ask a great deal and I do try my best, but nobody I know is this off the mark.
              Elephant

              1. I’ve been on the road with drivers who seem this oblivious. I’ve walked by people I know well, who don’t even seem to notice me. I’ve almost been run down by teenagers thumbing their phones without a clue who is on the sidewalk with them. My children would not see a baboon in the room when the TV is on. I don’t know why I’m arguing for Red, except that if a wolf can eat a grandma with no mess and talk tauntingly like a human, then a little girl can be oblivious. Just my opinion. I think of the behavior more as metaphor than recounting of reality.

                1. You have many good points here – I will cogitate on this! Naturally, I do not think you can read any fairy tale for logic or without looking for meaning on many levels. My dismissal of the story was a childhood response – I wasn’t big on metaphors at four – And at that age did not like stories with entirely implausible story lines.

                  But your points are persuasive to the adult me!
                  Elephant

Leave a Reply

