Hunters Find A Baby In The Forest!

Illustration from the story Valentine and Orson.  The Three Bears’ Picture Book.  Illustrated by Walter Crane.  George Routledge and Sons: London & New York.

Now, Pepin chanced that very day to hunt with all his train

In that same wood, and found the child ere she came back again;

And took him home, and brought him up, and gave him all the things fine –

Apparel, horses, and a name, – so he was Valentine.

And brave and fair he grew, – King Pepin’s daughter loved him well;

The sons were jealous. Now will I his brother’s story tell.

From the story Valentine and Orson.

The Three Bears’ Picture Book.

Illustrated by Walter Crane.

George Routledge and Sons: London & New York.

4 thoughts on “Hunters Find A Baby In The Forest!

  1. I was intrigued by the historical connection depicted in this illustration I noticed our library system has an updated version of this tale. I ordered it and will be interested to see what it’s like. Also, I looked up the illustrator and his works are still available in our county system. So I ordered a couple of them to look at, too. Thanks for this illustration. Led me in several directions. Obviously. Plus I like the look on the king’s face. And the hunting bird, falcon? Hawk?

    1. Dear Claudia,

      Walter Crane – so much to enjoy – really glad you are taking a closer look at his work – you will be rewarded. The story is one of the basic tales with many good twists. I am so happy for both of us!
      Thank you for letting me know,
      Elephant

Leave a Reply

